Todd Daniel

Green Todd(ess) Dressing

In recipes on July 15, 2010 at 7:41 am

Dear Todd,

What is with all of the loincloth photos? We get it. You used to be thin. We believe you. You used to be a gymnast. Enough already. Put a shirt on, for crying out loud. Those days are behind you, and from where I’m standing, there’s a lot more room to hide back there than there used to be.

Get over it.

Todd

p.s. Do you need to borrow some pants? I’m sure I have something in a 38″ waist lying around here somewhere.

Todd weighs in:  I’m happy to report that no fried food has entered my system in the last 48 hours. In fact, very little food has entered my system. A turkey sandwich on wheat with dijon and some lightly steamed vegetables with a homemade Greek yogurt green goddess dressing have comprised my meals the last two days, and lemon water has been my drink of choice. Well, my drink, at least. The old me would choose cola. The old me would also have sat on the couch and watched the new me do 50 sit-ups and 20 push-ups. The really old me (a.k.a. skinny me) would have been horrified by those numbers and would have laughed at the grunting and shaking that accompanied them.

On a lighter note, here is my recipe for Green Goddess Dressing:

Todd’s Non-Fat Green Goddess Dressing

Simply place the following ingredients in a food processor and pulse to combine:

2 cups non-fat Greek style yogurt

Juice of one lemon

1 tablespoon anchovy paste

A handful of fresh herbs, such as basil, tarragon, dill or cilantro

1 bunch of scallions, green and white parts, coarsely chopped

or

1 shallot coarsely chopped

1 tablespoon chopped garlic

Salt and freshly ground pepper to taste

  1. You could have been on ‘So You Think You Can Dance’ with your acrobatic prowess. Lauren is doing fantastic; how much credit can you take? Thanks for the Green Toddess recipe, although I’m not an anchovy fan, I will have to try it. Keep up the good work!

  2. A friend who wishes to remain anonymous (she’s become paranoid of the internet since reading that Dragon Tattoo book) suggests blending in an avocado when you make the green goddess recipe. She also advises against using nonfat Greek yogurt, preferring low fat or regular. Her recommendation is that a little fat helps to stave off hunger, so you end up eating less in the long run. She looks great, so I’m willing to believe anything she says with regards to fitness.

  3. This looks great…are the anchovies totally *necessary* in this though? Me no can do on the anchovy situation.

  4. I’m sure you can increase the salt a bit and forego the anchovies (although they are virtually unrecognizable in this recipe – but I understand how you might be reticent to add them). Or, if it is actually the fish part of the anchovy that bothers you, you might just add a bit of the oil from a tin of anchovies. Still, I think the recipe would be lovely without the fish aspect. Thanks for reading! I’ll be posting again today.

Leave a Reply

